So Wild Dog is a TV Star

It’s official. The premier of Season 5 of the CW show Arrow aired on October 5th. I’ll be addressing it in a later episode of Wild Pod: A Wild Dog Podcast. Probably episode 3. But for now, here are my first impressions:

  1. Costume: Cool. It looks like Wild Dog. More than Arrow looks like Green Arrow. I’m pleased. screenshot_2016-10-07-00-49-05
  2. Character: Meh? I guess until we learn more about this version of Wild Dog, I’m not going to be completely onboard with this interpretation. I mean, would the Wild Dog from the comics be this sort of vigilante? How much like the original character will this interpretation be? His “secret identity” isn’t even the same guy as our Quad Cities Wild Dog. Are these bad things? Not necessarily. Time will tell.
  3. Overall Impression: Too soon to tell. He was in one scene in the episode, and he didn’t do anything except take an arrow to the leg.

I don’t watch Arrow. I watch The Flash and the two shows have crossed over so I’m somewhat familiar-ish with Arrow. I only just got into Supergirl. I’ve always been funny about super-hero TV shows. As much as I love comics and super-hero movies, I’ve seldom given the TV shows much attention. But I will be tuning into Arrow from now on. At least until Wild Dog is no longer part of the show.

Which brings up a question. If the character becomes super popular as a result of these appearances, and he gets his own new comic series… should I change Wild Pod from a mini-series to a monthly? Do I want to? Do I really like the character that much? Hmmm…

I’m putting the cart before the horse. Let’s just see how this plays out.

You can currently hear me rambling about Wild Dog on Wild Pod: A Wild Dog Podcast and on The Action Comics Weekly Podcast.

-Jay

4 thoughts on “So Wild Dog is a TV Star

  1. I recently went to Rockford, Illinois to a comic shop and purchased Wild Dog #3-4 for $3 apiece and the Wild Dog Special for $4. The worker told me Wild Dog is going to be in Cave Carson Has A Cybernetic Eye #2, but I don’t know if he is on the level or just a crazy old coot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

