Wild Pod: A Wild Dog Podcast Episode 05

In Wild Pod: A Wild Dog Podcast, FKAjason covers the legendary DC Comics action hero Wild Dog, from his initial 1987 four-issue mini-series and beyond. In this episode, Jay and Chad Bokelman cover Wild Dog’s appearances in Action Comics Weekly #601 and #602, by Max Allan Collins, Terry Beatty, John Nyberg, Michele Wolfman, Gaspar, and Mike Gold. Pull up a chair and listen to find out what makes Wild Dog great.

Remember to use the hashtag #SNGPOD when commenting on social media!

Follow us on Twitter! (@SNGPOD4779)

Music
Wild Ones – Flo Rida ft. Sia
Been Caught Stealing – Jane’s Addiction

Click here to play episode.

Also available on iTunes and Stitcher.

*Special thanks to Chad Bokelman for allowing me to use these clips.*

2 comments

  1. 1) I know I said that I was going to try to be positive about Wild Dog, but as the strip progresses, I’m really getting the feeling that Collins & Beatty created this character as a halfhearted but calculated play for commercial success. Collins especially doesn’t seem into it, but maybe he was delivering his buddy Beatty a change of pace action-oriented strip so he wouldn’t be stuck with another mystery script? For a book that seems to be aiming for a grounded reality, how likely is it that four mid-westerners from the same high school football team grew up to have a terrorist attack widower, the new money fiance of the murdered daughter of a mafioso, a cop and a fed? Unfortunately, Jack Wheeler was the least interesting option, whose tired motivation isn’t revealed until his identity was. What a cheat! Rereading the mini-series finale cleared up why the character ceased to be an active concern for me.

    2) I was inspired to do some checking on Mike’s Amazing World of Comics, and determined that 1987 was a major flashpoint for these urban commando comics. The Punisher’s ongoing series launched a few months before Wild Dog, but I didn’t pick it up yet. Maybe the early issues were too hot to find, but I seem to recall thumbing through at least one of the Klaus Janson ones on the spinner rack at Circle-K, then putting it back. I’ve not been kind to Terry Beatty here, but credit where due, I did prefer his work to Janson’s. However, I think this lends credence to my theory that Wild Dog was a direct reaction to the unexpected impact of the first Punisher mini-series, since both Marvel and DC seemed to respond to it at about the same time. I think it also bears noting that the Vigilante series ended with a bang two months after Wild Dog wrapped in the same calendar year. Also of personal import, that very same month I bought my first issue of The Punisher series, which was the first post-Janson issue, sweetened by the art of Dave Ross & Kevin Nowlan (and a Mike Mignola cover). I continued with Punisher while dropping Action Comics when it went weekly, marking a major shift away from not only Wild Dog, but DC Comics as a whole. Maybe there is something to Domino Theory.

    3) You forgot to promote this episode on Facebook… or did you?

    4) I welcome excerpting segments from the Action Comics Weekly Podcast, since I tapped out on that show about two episodes in. Sorry, but it started at three hours on a bi-weekly schedule and I see it was creeping up to 200 minutes as it progressed. I don’t get to listen to podcasts during my workday, so I just don’t have that kind of time to devote to one show. Frankly, I’d have taken the name seriously and just run alternating segments each week, similar to how Midnight… The Podcasting Hour has worked out so far. Anyway, well played closing musical cue.

    5) I prefer John Nyberg’s inks in ACW, as it gives the strip a darker and moodier feel that reminds me of Luke McDonnell on Suicide Squad. Also, I wonder if Dick Giordano was pulling a Vinnie Colletta and only inking the major elements in the Wild Dog mini-series, because the panels feel more fleshed out and complete here.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

