DrunkCast 02: I Met a Traveler from an Antique Land

Stop all the clocks, cut off the telephone,
Prevent the dog from barking with a juicy bone,
Silence the pianos and with muffled drum
Bring out the coffin, let the mourners come.

Let airplanes circle moaning overhead
Scribbling on the sky the message He Is Dead,
Put crepe bows round the white necks of the public doves,
Let the traffic policemen wear black cotton gloves.

He was my North, my South, my East and West,
My working week and my Sunday rest,
My noon, my midnight, my talk, my song;
I thought that love would last for ever: I was wrong.

The stars are not wanted now: put out every one;
Pack up the moon and dismantle the sun;
Pour away the ocean and sweep up the wood.
For nothing now can ever come to any good.

“Funeral Blues,” W.H. Auden, 1938

34743_438686019881_1182332_n

Music
Pop Goes the World – Men Without Hats

The Sun Always Shines on TV – A-Ha
Silent Running – Mike + the Mechanics
Breakaway – Big Pig
Brothers in Arms – Dire Straits
She’s an Angel – They Might be Giants
Storybook Love – Mark Knopfler
Home Again: End Credits (Star Trek IV) – Leonard Rosenman
Back to the Future Overture – The Outatime Orchestra (Alan Silvestri)
The Wizard of Speed and Time – Mike Jittlov and John Massari
The War of the Worlds Medley – Jeff Wayne

Split – The Roy Clark Method

Click here to play Drunkcast episode 02!

Also available on iTunes and Stitcher.

2 thoughts on “DrunkCast 02: I Met a Traveler from an Antique Land

  1. I did not realize that DrunkCast was going to specialize in wakes, so I didn’t quite know where this was going at first, but I did finally catch on ahead of your saying it plain. I definitely relate to the “I didn’t know I was poor at the time because so was everyone else,” which lasted until I started visiting my father’s family. That’s also when I began spending time with my half-brother, who by my standards was close to me but by any objective standard I kept at arm’s length. It’s my way, and by our late teens, various familial estrangements meant we didn’t have much of a relationship at all. It’s been at least 3-5 years since we’ve spoken. That only happens because of our sister, who I only talk to once or twice a year. Your show got me thinking about all the hours we spent reading comics, playing with action figures, attempting half-assed single afternoon RPG campaigns, or bullshitting about music and movies and life in general while wandering his neighborhood. Then I remember his string of unbalanced girlfriends that pushed me away, his rabid AM radio conservatism, all the weekends getting drunk with his loser buddies as they reminisced about stupid cruel shenanigans from their teens that I blessedly wasn’t a party to. I could have done more, could have been a better brother, but I didn’t value the relationships enough or want to be in those places.

    Friends are the family we choose, and my sincere hope is that I’m dead before I lose either of my chosen best friends/brothers, who I’m blessed to see regularly. I got into a fight with one the last time we podcasted, and we were both still hurt and angry at the end of the evening, but I’d hate like hell to ever lose him in any long term capacity.

    All this is to say that I can’t imagine what you’ve gone through in losing your brother, but it made my heart hurt to hear it, and I want to give you a virtual hug.

    Like

Leave a Reply

