Beetlemania! 04: Blue Beetle (vol 3) #4

Tim and Jay are back, and in this episode, Tim takes us back to 1965 and reviews “The Chlorophyll Man” from Blue Beetle (vol 3) #4. This story, by Joe Gill, Bill Fraccio, Pat Masulli, Tony Tallarico, and Dick Giordano, features the Dan Garrett version of Blue Beetle and the debut of the Praying Mantis Man!

Remember to use the hashtag #SNGPOD when commenting on social media!

Follow us on Twitter! (@SNGPOD4779)

Music
The Bug – Jerry Dallman and the Knightcaps
I Just Called to Say I Love You – Stevie Wonder
Praying Mantis – Don Dixon

Click here to play episode 04!

Also available on iTunes and Stitcher.

3 thoughts on “Beetlemania! 04: Blue Beetle (vol 3) #4

  1. Very enjoyable episode, beetle-boys!

    Praying Mantis Man … I love the 1960s!

    “Faster than sound … almost the speed of light.” Not buying it. For one thing, the speed of light is WAAAAYYYYY faster than the speed of sound. And for another … No. Just no.

    In terms of trying to track down Steve Ditko, I highly recommend Jonathan Ross’ documentary “In Search of Steve Ditko.” In it, Ross (a BBC TV host), along with Neil Gaiman, track down Ditko’s apartment. What happens next … you have to watch the documentary to find out. It is available on You Tube, by the way.

    Loving the show … keep up the good work!

    — Professor Alan

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yeah, this is more like it! I can’t speak for anyone else (who wouldn’t agree with more and/or strongly disapprove of how I said it and generally protest me as their representative regardless of the content) but I’m really enjoying these Dan Garrett (Garret? *click-click-click* GARRETT.) Blue Beetle stories! They have that insane quality I love about Golden Age comics, but with the more polished and wider screen art of the Silver Age. Praying Mantis Man is a mouthful of period cornball, and yet, his design is so off-puttingly creepy that I dig it a lot. I love that Juanita gets name-checked on the cover of a comic still deep in the Mad Men era, even if there is a strong element of “international flavor-sampling playboy” to her inclusion. Just existing and being addressed by name is still very progressive for those times (and from what I understand, from this company.) If things keep going on this track, you guys may make me a fan of at least one incarnation of Blue Beetle (unless he changes into that proposed costume. Ugh.)

    P.S. I’ve always appreciated The Phantom from afar. That guy could use a podcast. I just ran a check and the closest thing I could find was individual episodes of movie podcasts covering the Billy Zane flick I fell asleep on.

    Like

Leave a Reply

