DrunkCast 04: Suicide is Painless

A recent suicide causes Jay to reflect on his own history with that topic. It might be oversharing. It might be undersharing. It might be self-serving ego-stroking. You decide.

Remember to use the hashtag #SNGPOD when commenting on social media!

Follow us on Twitter! (@SNGPOD4779)

Music
Suicide is Painless – John Bahler, Tom Bahler, Ron Hicklin,and Ian Freebairn-Smith (written by Johnny Mandel and Mike Altman)

Don’t Try Suicide – Queen
One More Suicide – Marcy Playground
Straight A’s (Live) – Dead Kennedys
The Ledge – The Replacements
Adam’s Song – Blink-182
Gloomy Sunday – Billie Holiday
Suicide Solution – Ozzy Osbourne
Tourniquet – Evanescence
Headfirst for Halos – My Chemical Romance
Angel, Angel, Down We Go Together – Morrissey

Click here to play episode 04!

Also available on iTunes and Stitcher.

2 comments

  1. So the deal is, I’m tired of thinking about replying to this episode. I listened to it a few weeks after getting back from HeroesCon, and debated multiple approaches. My default is the usual cavalier and caustic, but that seemed wildly inappropriate, and even a potential liability. I considered confessional, but you don’t really know me like that, and it’s not necessarily up to me whether or not I get to hang out the laundry of people currently or formerly in my life. There was lecturing in there at various points, but despite my typical mouthiness, I don’t really know you like that. I’m sure I could have pounded out a lengthy intellectual treatise on my strong, conflicting, and atypical thoughts on the topic of endeadening oneself. Again, not necessarily helpful, desirable, or “safe.” I even attempted to post a draft a week ago, but some server issue didn’t allow it to take, and I reconsidered what I’d written. So I’m kind of at a loss, and certainly frustrated as a result, but I also couldn’t abide the emotional cowardice of choosing not to say anything.

    The short version is, I wish we’d gotten drunk in Charlotte and talked through this shit, and happier stuff besides. I’d argue that checking out while you’ve got a child in the house is an absolute fucking bullshit choice to make, if “choice” is an applicable condition within the situation. I’d certainly urge you to lean on people who can help you get to less severe states of mind. I’m sorry this is a thing you’ve got to struggle with. I’ve heard you, and will continue to listen when you need to slur-talk at a microphone with a disquieting view of the abyss. Just keep talking. Silence is so very boring.

    Like

Leave a Reply

